CMMI 1-5 级别定义

原创 2011年01月17日 13:29:00

CMMI: Capability Maturity Model Integration

Five Levels:   1 - Initial ,  2 - Managed,  3 - Defined,  4 - Quantitatively Managed, 5 - Optimizing


At maturity level 1, processes are usually ad hoc and chaotic. The organization usually does not provide a stable environment to support the processes. Success in these organizations depends on the competence and heroics of the people in the organization and not on the use of proven processes. In spite of this chaos, maturity level 1 organizations often produce products and services that work; however, they frequently exceed their budgets and do not meet their schedules. Maturity level 1 organizations are  characterized by a tendency to over commit, abandonment of processes in a time of crisis, and an inability to repeat their successes.



At maturity level 2, the projects of the organization have ensured that processes are planned and executed in accordance with policy; the projects employ skilled people who have adequate resources to produce controlled outputs; involve relevant stakeholders; are monitored, controlled, and reviewed; and are evaluated for adherence to their process descriptions. The process discipline reflected by maturity level 2 helps to ensure that existing practices are retained during times of stress. When these practices are in place, projects are performed and managed according to their documented plans.

At maturity level 2, the status of the work products and the delivery of services are visible to management at defined points (e.g., at major milestones and at the completion of major tasks). Commitments are established among relevant stakeholders and are revised as needed.

Work products are appropriately controlled. The work products and services satisfy their specified process descriptions,  standards, and procedures.



At maturity level 3, processes are well characterized and understood, and are described in standards, procedures, tools, and methods. The organization’s set of standard processes, which is the basis for maturity level 3, is established and improved over time. These standard processes are used to establish consistency across the organization.

Projects establish their defined processes by tailoring the organization’s set of standard processes according to tailoring guidelines. (See the glossary for a definition of “organization’s set of standard processes.”)

A critical distinction between maturity levels 2 and 3 is the scope of standards, process descriptions, and procedures. At maturity level 2, the standards, process descriptions, and procedures may be quite different in each specific instance of the process (e.g., on a particular project). At maturity level 3, the standards, process descriptions, and procedures for a project are tailored from the organization’s set of standard processes to suit a particular project or organizational unit and therefore are more consistent, except for the differences allowed by the tailoring guidelines.

Another critical distinction is that at maturity level 3, processes are typically described more rigorously than at maturity level 2. A defined process clearly states the purpose, inputs, entry criteria, activities, roles, measures, verification steps, outputs, and exit criteria. At maturity level 3, processes are managed more proactively using an understanding of the interrelationships of the process activities and detailed measures of the process, its work products, and its services.

At maturity level 3, the organization must further mature the maturity level 2 process areas. The generic practices associated with generic goal 3 that were not addressed at maturity level 2 are applied to achieve maturity level 3.



At maturity level 4, the organization and projects establish quantitative objectives for quality and process performance and use them as criteria in managing processes. Quantitative objectives are based on the needs of the customer, end users, organization, and process implementers.

Quality and process performance is understood in statistical terms and is managed throughout the life of the processes [SEI 2001].

For selected subprocesses, detailed measures of process performance are collected and statistically analyzed. Quality and processperformance measures are incorporated into the organization’s measurement repository to support fact-based decision making [McGarry 2000]. Special causes of process variation are identified and, where appropriate, the sources of special causes are corrected to prevent future occurrences. (See the definition of “special cause of process variation” in the glossary.)

A critical distinction between maturity levels 3 and 4 is the predictability of process performance. At maturity level 4, the performance of processes is controlled using statistical and other quantitative techniques, and is quantitatively predictable. At maturity level 3, processes are typically only qualitatively predictable.



At maturity level 5, an organization continually improves its processes based on a quantitative understanding of the common causes of variation inherent in processes. (See the definition of “common cause of process variation” in the glossary.)

Maturity level 5 focuses on continually improving process performance through incremental and innovative process and technological improvements. Quantitative process improvement objectives for the organization are established, continually revised to reflect changing business objectives, and used as criteria in managing process improvement. The effects of deployed process improvements are measured and evaluated against the quantitative process improvement objectives. Both the defined processes and the organization’s set of standard processes are targets of measurable improvement activities.

A critical distinction between maturity levels 4 and 5 is the type of process variation addressed. At maturity level 4, the organization is concerned with addressing special causes of process variation and providing statistical predictability of the results. Although processes may produce predictable results, the results may be insufficient to achieve the established objectives. At maturity level 5, the organization is concerned with addressing common causes of process variation and changing the process (to shift the mean of the process performance or reduce the inherent process variation experienced) to improve process performance and to achieve the established quantitative process improvement objectives.



  • 2009年12月02日 10:38
  • 276KB
  • 下载

init 0-6 (启动级别:init 0,1,2,3,4,5,6)

启动级别:init 0,1,2,3,4,5,6 2010-10-29 15:47:50|  分类: linux之路 阅读376 评论0   字号:大中小 订阅 这是个很久的知识点了,只是自...
  • 2015年10月23日 18:00
  • 360

启动级别:init 0,1,2,3,4,5,6

启动级别:init 0,1,2,3,4,5,6 0:停机 1:单用户形式,只root进行维护 2:多用户,不能使用net file system 3:完全多用户 5:图形化 4:安全模...




Q:CMMI提供的阶梯式前进的路线图是不是基于组织当前瓶颈的?有什么问题? -------------- 下文取之于前几天的微博讨论。 @张克强-敏捷307:CMMI提供了各项最佳实践的特征,提...


CMMI全称是Capability Maturity Model Integration,即软件能力成熟度模型集成模型。分为5个级别,25个过程域(Process Area,PA)。 1、初始级(I...


  • 2014年06月16日 11:23
  • 81KB
  • 下载


cmmi五个级别的经典描述 台阶一:CMMI一级,完成级。在完成级水平上,企业对项目的目标与要做的努力很清晰,项目的目标得以实现。但是由于任务的完 成带有很大的偶然性,企业无法保证在实施同类项目...

关于CMMI 级别和 BUG率(千行代码缺陷率)

关于CMMI 级别中和BUG率相关的信息如下: 千行代码缺陷率(bug率): CMM1级    11.95‰ CMM2级    5.52‰ CMM3级    2.39‰ CMM4...
  • ClsData
  • ClsData
  • 2012年03月22日 17:20
  • 33075

让工程师爱上CMMI,实现管理于无形 --- 中标软件CMMI L5之路 (1/2)

您举报文章:CMMI 1-5 级别定义